RECALL: General Mills Recalls 1.8 M Boxes of Cheerios Due to Allergy Concerns

0
1628

General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of Cheerios that were manufactured from a plant in Lodi, CA that were labeled “Gluten-free”. These boxes are thought to have possibly been in contact with wheat flour instead of oat flour.

 

 

 

 

The Minnesota based company says this effects Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios. Apparently wheat flour was accidentally used in a system that typically only processes gluten-free oat flour.

People with wheat allergies and Celiac disease may have allergic reactions and discomfort when they consume food that has or has come in contact with wheat products.

General Mills Inc. said today that it will take the cereal out of warehouses and off store shelves, and says customers who are allergic to wheat can contact the company for a replacement box or a full refund.
The boxes in question have the following “BETTER IF USED BY” code dates and the plant code LD which indicates the product was produced at Lodi, California:

Honey Nut Cheerios
12JUL2016LD
13JUL2016LD
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD

Honey Nut Cheerios
17JUL2016LD
18JUL2016LD
20JUL2016LD
21JUL2016LD
22JUL2016LD

Honey Nut Cheerios
23JUL2016LD
24JUL2016LD
25JUL2016LD

Yellow Box Cheerios
14JUL2016LD
15JUL2016LD
16JUL2016LD
17JUL2016LD

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here