Mom on the Move: April Luu

0
684

Our “Superhero” Mom on the Move this month is inspiring. She was introduced to us from another local mom who wrote to the 719 moms team to tell us about April by saying:

“April makes me wish I were a Superhero. Most of the women who take her classes are military wives. When their husbands deploy, working out and meeting other healthy moms is their outlet. I’m not a military wife, but I take her classes to keep up with my 3 and 5 year old.”

We thought we should meet her and introduce her to you too! Here is what we learned about April when we interviewed her to be our newest Mom on the Move.

Tell us about you and your family: I am 33 years old, I have an 8 year old daughter named Leilani, and a 4 year old son named Koa!! I have been married to my husband for 14 years. I have been teaching fitness classes for almost 3 years now. I teach 8 fitness classes a week and do personal training at Woodmen Hills and Fitness 19. I recently picked up my personal training certification also.

How did you get into racing?: I decided to sign up for Warrior Dash race last year just for fun!! I went out and won my age bracket 30-34..and placed 3rd place overall!! That was it, I was addicted!!

What is your biggest accomplishment as a runner?: I further went on to race in different races through out the year and placed in every race I entered. That is what brings me to my biggest accomplishment is getting Max Performance and Adam Way Racing to sponsor me. Max Performance took it one step further and they are also training me! At the end of August I defended my title at Warrior Dash this year and finished 11th out of 5,755 people!!!

What is most rewarding about being a mom?: The most rewarding thing about being a Mom is being able to be a role model for them. To teach them that being active and healthy is a lifestyle. Showing them that hard work and determination pays off.

What is your biggest challenge as a working/training mom?: My biggest challenge about being a Mom and training is finding the time to train and balance my work schedule. At times that means getting up at 5 am to get it in.

What do you do for fun, outside of running?: For fun I love spending time with my family, watching movies, and hanging out with friends.

What is your favorite (adult) book?: My favorite adult book right now is Born to Run!! Love it so inspiring!!

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here